Come Here Boy

Come Here Boy

(Lesson Plans)
Come here boy,
Why don’t you let me’n my teeth teach you a thing or two
About lovin’.
Why don’t we take a bite out of that hunger of yours
Together.
Come here boy.
Tell me your name.
When I say your name the sky’s gonna put her tongue down,
Taste mountains with electric teeth.
Put your hand in mine.
When I fold your fingers in my fingers the ocean’s gonna spit starfish
Into the heavens so that we can walk late at night
Hand in hand
Without tripping.
Give me a smile, boy.
When I’ve got that caves’ll turn their bellies out for us,
Spill golden guts, still warm, into our outstretched palms.
Kiss me a kiss,
And you won’t notice nothing else.
What the sun sings the moon to make her stay, you won’t hear a word.
What the earth offers up, what the sky sends (down),
You could blink for an eon and miss nothin’.
Kiss me a kiss, boy,
Taste the velvet jewel of life where it was born.
Come here.
Let me teach you about the nut of it, the seed.
Let me teach you about water circling the drain
Teach you until your roots run like rivers.
Let me teach you about rain
Rising up from an earth too full too full to swallow it.
Kiss me a kiss, boy,
Let me show you
How the earth grows
Green
How it overflows
How the color knows
How the root of the thing
How the nut, how the seed.
Let me teach you a thing or two about love.

-Eve Strillacci

About loyolapoets

The Greyhound Collective Poetry Revival would like to consider “mission statement” in its simplest terms. Rather than reiterate the boundaries of our task, we simply express our aim: to become a mission – a party of individuals sent out into the world with a message meant to unveil a uniting principle of truth. We define this message as “poetry.” We promote poetry as a viable and vivid art form, alive and accessible. Freed from its ivory tower, our poetry will breathe life into an ailing form while fostering an artful relationship with the greater community. We assert ourselves under the following mantra: “your mouth is a sign of how sacred your life actually is.” As a collective, we write to be sanctified. View all posts by loyolapoets

Leave a Reply

