Dinner at My Grandparents’ House

Dinner at My Grandparents’ House

All they offer is ginger ale to flush the stalk of green
bean casserole that sticks in the
back of my mouth, a constant reminder of how
yellow and pungent old age must be.

After dinner, my parents sit in the kitchen, laughing
at jokes I’m too young to understand, drinking from forbidden bottles.
My brother and I are hands-and-knees in some
purposeless room populated with hat boxes
and old afghans, guiding our toy cars through
the dusty shag carpet. The furniture is stiff –
the cushions are musky thin and the legs
jut like bony elbows in the path of my
Cadillac Deville.

The television plays a black-and-white,
static-laced version of the news, but I am
too occupied trying to dissect an echo I
heard from the kitchen. But it means nothing,
I am too young to understand.

-Jerard Fagerberg

About loyolapoets

The Greyhound Collective Poetry Revival would like to consider “mission statement” in its simplest terms. Rather than reiterate the boundaries of our task, we simply express our aim: to become a mission – a party of individuals sent out into the world with a message meant to unveil a uniting principle of truth. We define this message as “poetry.” We promote poetry as a viable and vivid art form, alive and accessible. Freed from its ivory tower, our poetry will breathe life into an ailing form while fostering an artful relationship with the greater community. We assert ourselves under the following mantra: “your mouth is a sign of how sacred your life actually is.” As a collective, we write to be sanctified. View all posts by loyolapoets

2 responses to “Dinner at My Grandparents’ House

  • Simone

    This is really good! I just love this moment of your poem: “but I am / too occupied trying to dissect an echo” (enjambing the line after “echo” might’ve been interesting, too). I like how accurately, if you will, this experience of naivety is portrayed. Keep writing!

  • Jingle

    dynamic flow..
    lovely poetry writing here…
    wow.
    I am very impressed.

Leave a Reply

